© 2023 The Journalist. Proudly created with Wix.com


2020 Stan Brunn Media & Communication Geography Paper Competition

The Media & Communication Geography Specialty Group will again award three paper prizes to participants at the 2020 AAG meeting in Denver, Colorado. A $150 first prize and two $75 runner-up prizes will be awarded on behalf of the prize sponsor, Stan Brunn.  

To qualify for consideration, papers must address geographical aspects of media & communication or mediatized and communicational aspects of geography. This includes studies of particular films, television programs, websites, or video games as well as particular genres of media such as comedy, horror, or the news. It also includes studies of ways that media are incorporated into the spaces and places of daily life and media-induced transformations of the meanings of public and private. Studies of communication infrastructure, either fixed or mobile, are appropriate, as well as studies of unevenness or gaps in communication infrastructure.


Papers must be sole-authored by currently-enrolled undergraduate or graduate students. This year, we also accept papers by early-career scholars (PhD conferral within the last 5 years). 


Details: The judging will be performed by a panel of recognized geographers with expertise in various aspects of communication geography. Papers will be judged on the basis of appropriateness, clarity, originality and potential for publication. Formatting should be suitable for an intended journal such as the Annals of the AAG, Geographical Review, Professional Geographer, Environment and Planning D, Political Geography, or another refereed journal. Length must be between 5,000 and 10,000 words. The author's name and contact information should be on a separate cover page, and must not be indicated in the body of the paper, in order to facilitate the blind review process. Submit as a pdf file or a Word document. If using Word, figures should be separate files (please do not embed images and do not exceed 1 megabyte per image). Winners will be notified per email shortly before the AAG conference in April 2020.  


Papers must be submitted by March 1, 2019 to Julia M. Hildebrand (Student Liaison for the Media & Communication Geography Specialty Group) via hildebjm@eckerd.edu.

Geographies of Media - Call for Papers and Posters


Association of American Geographers Annual Meeting

Denver, CO, April 6-10, 2020


Sponsored by:

Media and Communication Geography Specialty Group



We are seeking papers and posters for several sessions that examine geographies of media, including (but not limited to) film, television, music, art, advertising, the Internet, social media, newspapers and magazines, radio, video and animation etc. These sessions should include contributions to current issues surrounding these media, whether theoretical, methodological, pedagogical, etc.


We hope to present a wide range of both topics and contexts, and we seek participants interested in the geographical implications—social, political, cultural, and economic—that are often contained within the spaces and places of different forms of media. Importantly, media often extend beyond their original form, so papers that also envision these media geographies as part of a broader industrial, cultural, and political complex are welcomed, as are papers that consider the broad linkages between media and our daily lived experiences, from our cities to streets to living rooms to imaginations. These contexts invite inquiries into the production, distribution, exhibition, and consumption of all types of media, and we encourage critical, theoretical, methodological, pedagogical, and discursive contributions. We also welcome inquiries from anyone wishing to assemble a special themed session or act as a discussant in a session.


A separate call for papers will follow with details on submission to the student and early career paper awards. Full papers submitted to the Stan Brunn Student and Early Career Scholar Paper Competition by March 1, 2020 will be eligible for consideration. In addition a new award will consider creative scholarly endeavors not limited to papers including film, poetry, art, animation, music, and other media forms.


Priority deadline is October 21, 2019 (Monday). Final deadline is October 28, 2019 (Monday).

  1. Compose an abstract following the AAG guidelines.


  1. Register online with the AAG to obtain a PIN.


  1. Email Presenter Identification Number (PIN) and abstract to Media and Communication Specialty Group Chair Don Colley (don.colley@okstate.edu) and/or Secretary/Treasurer Alana Seaman (seamana@uncw.edu)


For further information please contact:

Don Colley, Chair, Media and Communication Geography Specialty Group (don.colley@okstate.edu)

Or see our website: www.mediacommgeog.wix.com/home  

Congratulations to the 2019 Stan Brunn Student Paper Competition Awardee!

Alexander Fisher for "Constraining Risk Narratives: a multi-decadal media analysis of drinking water in Bangladesh"

Congratulations to the 2018 Stan Brunn Student Paper Competition Awardees!

First Place: Julia Hildebrand from Drexel University for “Seeing, Moving, Being (with) Drones.”

Runner Up:  Rachel Brydolf-Horwitz of University of British Columbia with her paper: “The Frontier of 'Visibility.'”

2017 Stan Brunn Student Paper Competition Award was presented to: Willie Jamaal Wright of University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill for his paper “‘So God Make a Farmer’: Media Misrepresentations and the Crafting of Agricultural Imaginations.” Congratulations! 


AAG Shorts

New for 2017 in Boston!

Call for submissions of short films for AAG Shorts 2017

Are you a geographer who has produced a short film – or are you thinking of using film in your research? If so then submit your film to AAG shorts launching at next years AAG meeting in Boston. Successful applicants will be invited onto a panel for a special Q&A session. A selection of the films will also be uploaded to the AAG website.

Deadline for submission 30 September 2016

How to apply:


1 Send your film via a file transfer service such as wetransfer or myairbridge to j.jacobs@qmul.ac.uk or if a DVD by date-stamped post to: Jessica Jacobs Queen Mary University of London Mile End E1 4NS London UK


2. Submit your film details here http://goo.gl/forms/TZ05aXxjyw1vny6p1


Sponsored by Media and Communication Geography


Terms and Conditions

  1.      Films can be made specifically for AAG Shorts – or already have been produced for other reasons.

  2.      Because this is the first year any year of production and length will be accepted. However the preferred length is 20 minutes or less.

  3.      Preview Format DVD or online secure screener (.eg. Vimeo). You can also submit your film (H.264, mp4, avi etc) via file transfer (e.g. myairbridge) Trailers will not be accepted.

  4.      Applicants need to say whether they will be registering to attend the meeting.

  5.      No film may be withdrawn from the programme once it has been selected

  6.      A copy of each selected film will be kept by the AAG Shorts Panel as part of the archive and for internal purposes.

This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now